Experiment Emotional Scenes with Different Angles

By Britney Pieta
 
When you think of a highly intense or emotional scene in a movie or T.V. show, you may wonder to yourself how it would have played out if there was a different main emotion that the characters felt. You may even imagine scenarios in your mind when something bad happens to you and how it would have been different if you reacted angrily versus in a happy state of mind. Thinking in various emotional angles can help you find the best emotion when writing out a scene because this influences how people perceive your story. Here is an example to help you understand what I mean by different emotional angles.
 
Scenario: A breakup between a young boy and a girl who are deciding to end their relationship….
 
Angry: I wish I never met you!…I’m wasting my time even talking with you right now!
 
Annoyed: Why do you always have to be like this?…Sometimes I don’ t know whether to hate you or love you!
 
Sad: There won’t be a day that goes by where I won’t think of you…I only wish we could give this another chance…But I understand if this is what’s best for us.
 
Surprised: I can’t believe this is happening….Why are you telling me this now?
 
Confused: But I thought we were such a good couple! You are not making any sense…
 
Happy: I am so glad this is over! I am free at last!
 
Try this out on your own and see how by just changing the emotional angle you can change the ultimate feelings you will also evoke in your audience.
1 Comment

Filed under Creative Minds

One response to “Experiment Emotional Scenes with Different Angles

  1. There is a parallel between developing emotional impact in writing as well as connecting with an audience while delivering a motivational message. I need to play with the angle a bit on my next speech. Nice job illustrating different emotions as a way to explore alternative ways to make an impact.

Leave a Reply

